Guide to Using Halal Supplements for Muslims

Guide to Using Halal Supplements for Muslims

As a Muslim, there are certain dietary requirements that must be followed.

In fact, Islam commands its followers to follow certain rules when it comes to food consumption. 

There are many arguments that distinguish between good food and drink that is permissible to eat (halal) and bad and unlawful food and drink.

Why do Muslims have to eat halal food?

As followers of Islam, Muslims follow and obey Allah's instructions as given in the Qur'an, the Holy Book of Islam.

Read: What is Zinc: Benefits and Food Sources

Living in Islam is not only about preparing for the spiritual world in the afterlife, but also about living a way of life that conforms to the rules of the Shari'a.

A “Muslim”, in its basic sense, is a person who follows the lifestyle advocated by Islam – that is, a complete surrender to God. 

Since Muslims are completely submissive to God, they must follow God's instructions, such as performing the five daily prayers, fasting throughout the month of Ramadan, giving charity and eating halal food: all of these things in order to keep themselves truly pure and clean according to the teachings. Al-Qur'an. 

Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) said: "Chastity and cleanliness are half of the Islamic faith."

Islam aims at the total package of human development and improvement in all human affairs and matters.

How to make sure the food is halal?

If the entire country consisted of Muslims, the word "halal" would not be labeled for food because all food is considered halal. 

In the same way, a Muslim restaurant will not label the food it sells as halal because a Muslim restaurant will not sell non-halal food. 

Only in countries with many religious adherents, and if the owner of the restaurant or food production company is non-Muslim, the word “halal” (with the “halal” logo identifier legally obtained) is displayed to indicate that the food being sold is halal.

Australia as well as several other countries have the authority to oversee halal food and food products that can be consumed by Muslims with their respective iconic “Halal” logos. 

The “Halal” authority in Australia is the Australian of Islamic Council (AFIC), which is the body that issues halal certification after thorough inspection.

Growing Demand for Halal Supplements

Of course, not every Muslim strictly follows a halal diet – but the majority do so because there is a growing desire among young Muslims to consume halal and follow Islamic teachings.

In fact, some young non-Muslims have also begun to follow a lifestyle of consuming halal food. The British newspaper,  Guardian, through its article stated that the sale of halal food has increased a lot.

This thriving young Muslim population has seeped into other areas and is starting to have an impact… especially in the areas of health and wellness.

Supplement manufacturers have sniffed the opportunity and are starting to enter a market that is expected to reach $279 billion by 2021.

What to Look for in a Halal Supplement?

halal suplemen

Quoting from the
link , there are some good examples of what makes certain supplements Haram (as opposed to Halal).

In short; most of these supplements contain things like Gelatin, made from animal bones… which animal really isn't. If one of the ingredients in a product is not Halal, then the entire product is not Halal.

Some products may contain alcohol or other animal derivatives – all because manufacturers want a low-cost method of production.

So, if you are a Muslim and an Athlete, inevitably you have to be very careful about the substances you consume to increase your strength.

There are certain instructions on product packaging that claim to be halal. The first thing you should pay attention to is the Halal Certificate, and it looks like this:

This certification ensures that supplements have undergone regular inspections to ensure procedures that their products are halal.

You can also check the label for the GMP stamp – it is a “Good Manufacturing Process” certification.

Please be aware that capsules tend to contain pork gelatin. Look for plant-based capsules and remember that most Vegan supplements are also Halal.

Supplements You Should Consider

When choosing a supplement, there will always be some debate about its safety and efficacy. 

Among some supplements that are good for health - and of course halal - you can consider the following supplements:

Read: What is Magnesium: List of the Best Foods Containing Magnesium.

Whey Protein

Whey protein is the most bioavailable source of protein. Whey protein promotes the growth of lean muscle mass, and aids weight loss thanks to its filling properties.

Whey protein comes from cow's milk. During the cheese fabrication process, the liquid product is purified through microfiltration or ion exchange to remove fat, carbohydrates, water and minerals.

The resulting liquid is then pasteurized and dried to obtain what is called whey, which usually consists of 80% protein and 20% lactose.

Most manufacturers will use a microbial substance called Rennin (or Rennet) of animal origin. So there are different opinions about whether Whey is halal or not. But luckily, Halal Certified Whey does exist.

By supplying the body with amino acids, whey protein increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown. It helps gain lean muscle and promotes post-workout recovery.

Active people who want to build and maintain lean muscle mass should consume 1.5 to 2 grams of protein per 1 pound of body weight (or 2 to 2.5 grams per kilogram of body weight) per day. 

Whey protein can be consumed at any time (usually in portions between 25 to 50 grams). Most athletes prefer to drink it after a workout.

Egg White Protein

Powder Egg white is rich in protein and contains nine essential amino acids, which make it a complete protein. Raw egg whites contain an average of 11 grams of protein per 100 grams of egg white.

This is a much easier way to get lots of protein than regular liquid egg whites.

The egg whites are separated from the yolks, pasteurized and processed into a fine powder. Most manufacturers use the cheapest eggs to make their egg white protein powder, so it is necessary to check the quality of the product before choosing a brand.

Egg white protein powder can be consumed at any time of the day. But just like whey protein, most people consume it after a workout.

Can be mixed with mater (fresh or warm), milk or smoothies.

Vegan Protein Powders Vegan

Protein powders are simply plant-based protein powders. It is suitable for you who are Muslim, vegetarian and vegan.

Most protein powders are made from soybeans, peas, hemp, and rice. The grains are ground into flakes to extract the oil. Then the flakes are processed into concentrate and spray dried into powder after being isolated and de-fatd and carbohydrate removed.

Vegetable protein is completely safe for consumption. However, there are some concerns regarding soy protein, especially the presence of GMOs (genetically modified organisms).

On the other hand, most plant-based protein powders are mixtures of several grains.


Creatine, mainly available in the form of creatine monohydrate, is an organic acid that promotes the growth of lean muscle mass and increases the efficiency of high-intensity exercise. 

It is produced naturally in the body, in only small doses. It is also found in protein-rich foods including meat, eggs, and fish.

Although creatine is available in meat, eggs, and fish, it is generally not possible to extract it from these sources. That's why it is produced synthetically by combining two raw chemicals: sarcosinate and cyanamide.

According to many studies, Creatine is the best safety substance in the supplement industry.

Whenever our body performs a muscle contraction, a molecule called ATP (Adenosine Triphosphate) is used as cellular energy, leaving behind ADP (Adenosine Diphosphate). Creatine allows the body to recycle ADP into ATP via a phosphate group.

Creatine is usually taken daily in single doses ranging from 3 to 5 grams. It can be consumed before or after exercise.


Glutamine is the most common amino acid found in the body. It helps promote muscle recovery and strengthening, especially recommended for vegetarians who do not eat meat and dairy products.

Glutamine is extracted from animal or vegetable protein hydrolysates through chemical fermentation and purification processes.

Glutamine is an -amino acid, and serves as a building block during biosynthesis proteinIt prevents our body from using its muscle mass as a source of energy by lowering insulin levels.

The recommended dose of taking glutamine ranges from 5 to 10 grams a day. It can be taken at any time of the day, but most athletes prefer to take it after a workout.


Beta-alanine is a non-essential amino acid that helps improve performance and reduce fatigue during intense exercise. It is mainly found in protein-rich foods.

Beta-alanine is made using a patented chemical process from acrylic acid and an ester.

Beta-alanine helps generate extra muscle effort, and increases lean muscle through its direct constituent carnosine, a substance that helps delay the production of lactic acid in muscles.

It is recommended to take between 3 and 6 grams of beta-alanine at any time of the day. The goal is to build carnosine concentrations in the muscles.


Caffeine is a natural stimulant that helps improve performance by reducing the pain you feel when you take it before a strenuous workout. It is found in coffee, tea, and cocoa.

Although caffeine can be produced synthetically, most of the caffeine on the market is a by-product of the decaffeination process.

By blocking adenosine receptors, caffeine increases the neurotransmitters dopamine and glutamate and reduces perceived pain.

Caffeine supplements are usually in capsule or powder form. The recommended dose depends on several factors such as age, gender, and weight. But it is generally not recommended to consume more than 400 mg of caffeine per day.

Fish Oil Fish

oil contains the omega-3 fatty acids eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), which have many health benefits, including their ability to prevent cardiovascular disease, hypertension, and even depression.

Fish oil has also been found to aid weight loss during exercise. Fish oil is derived from oily fish such as salmon and sardines, and is made using various industrial separation processes.

Fish oil is known to be safer than fish because it does not contain mercury. However, it should be taken in reasonable doses, between 250 and 500 mg/day of EPA and DHA.

The EPA and DHA contained in fish oil help balance cholesterol in the blood and increase the absorption of glucose and fatty acids into muscle cells.

Fish oil supplements are generally packaged in capsules and can be taken at any time of the day. However, it is advisable to take it with foods that contain some fat.


While there are hundreds of supplements available in the market, only a small handful have been proven to be effective and safe. When choosing supplements, avoid those that promise benefits that sound overly promising. 

Lastly, don't forget that even the most effective supplements cannot replace an exercise regimen. Eating nutritious food, avoiding stress and sleeping 8 hours per day are the main keys to achieving a healthy life.

Related by tags